Development & Learning

The provision for children's development and learning is guided by The Early Years Foundation Stage. From September 2008 the Early Years Foundation Stage became law. This brings together "Birth to Three Matters" and the Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage. Our setting reflects the 4 key themes and committments for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

A UNIQUE CHILD: Skillful communicator, competent learner

Inclusive Practice: Equality and Diversity, children's entitlements, early support

Keeping safe: Being safe and protected, discovering boundaries, making choices

Health & Well being: Growth and developing, physical and emotional well-being


Respecting each other: Understanding feelings, friendships and professional relationships

Parents as partners: Respecting diversity, communication, learning together

Supporting Learning: Positive interactions, listening to children, effective teaching

Key person: secure attachment, shared care, independence


Observations, Assessment and Planning: Starting with the child, planning, assessment

Supporting Every Child: Children's needs, the learning journey, working together

The Learning Environment: The emotional environment, outdoor environment, indoor environment

The Wider Context: Transitions and continuity, multi-agency working, the community


Play and Exploration: Learning through experience, adult involvement, contexts for learning

Active Learning: Mental and physical involvement, decision making, personalised learning

Creativity and Physical Thinking: Making connections, transforming & understanding, sustained shared thinking

How we provide for development and Learning:

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our setting helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and safe of development.

The Areas of Development and Learning comprise:

1. Personal, social and emotional development

2. Communication & language development

3. Physical development

4. Literacy

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the World

7. Expressive Arts & Design

For each area, the practice guidance sets out the Early Learning Goals. These goals state what is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year of their education.

The practice guidance also sets out in "Development Matters" the likely stages of progress a child makes along their journey towards the early learning goals. Our setting has regard to these matters when we assess children and plan for their learning.

"Staff ask questions to encourage thinking and language skills.

Staff provide greater challenges for older children" (Ofsted 2018)